Tony “Smoke” Stewart Captures 3rd Cup Championship!

Tony Stewart

Smoke has been a long time fan favorite, and for good reason. He’s crass, rude, funny, witty, and an amazingly talented driver. He now has three different NASCAR Cup titles to his name, Winston, Nextel, and Sprint. This last one coming to a tie in the chase standings, but winning the tie breaker over Carl Edwards with five wins. Stewart now has a championship for Stewart-Haas Racing, something that doesn’t happen often as a part owner/driver team. He is the first to do so since Alan Kulwicki did it in 1992 by himself.

Stewart has credited Gene Haas with his miraculous support for finances and Rick Hendrick for engine support throughout the season.

NASCAR is a team sport in many ways; pit crew, crew chief, research and development, owner, driver etc. Everyone must work together to accomplish the ultimate goal, winning a NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship.  It will be interesting to see if Smoke can string together a run of championships like Jimmy Johnson has done, and it starts with this one from 2011.

We here at BLFC congratulate Tony Stewart and his tremendous accomplishment of joining the list of nine NASCAR drivers who have captured 3 or more championships including: Richard Petty(7), Dale Earnhardt(7), Jimmy Johnson(5), Jeff Gordon(4), Lee Petty(3), David Pearson(3), Cale Yarborough(3), and Darrell Waltrip(3).