Celestial Reasonings


Occasionally I keep myself awake at night with racing thoughts of the sports universe.  This might be a symptom of my addiction to sports talk radio.  How can I possibly expect my mind to shut off most nights when I’m listening to any number of call-in shows, discussion shows, or live broadcast games?  It’s simple: It’s what I’ve come to expect, it’s what my brain wants.  When my mind doesn’t shut down because of it, I simply chalk it up to having quiet synaptic inspiration. 

As a child, I was always fascinated by broadcasting.  My father was a television producer for local stations in Madison and La Crosse, Wisconsin before I was even born.  He also was into different types of recording equipment and musical instruments.  I still remember the giant reel-to-reel tape recorder and microphone.  I didn’t dare try to do anything real with it, but he always let mess with it without fear.  Thinking about have far we’ve come not just from a technological equipment standpoint, but an overall broadcasting standpoint in the last 25 years is astounding.

” I like radio better than television because if you make a mistake on radio, they don’t know.  You can make up anything on the radio.” – Phil Rizzuto

But where did the sports radio thing start?  There where radio broadcasts of sporting events as far back as 1920 with boxing matches and the World Series.  Sports talk radio can derive its roots from early 1960’s Boston at WHDH with Don Gillis, whom at the time recorded a show with other area sports writers that would air at a later time.  Then around 1972, Eddie Andelman of WEEI in Boston started the first live sports call in show.  Ok, enough about that…

US Naval radio towers in Arlington, VA - 1917

My point is that even though sports talk radio has become a rather big thing in this and many other countires, it is not a new thing.  The fact that I embrace it so heavily should mean something.  Maybe it means that this is where the vast majority of my sports knowledge stems from, or maybe it means that I’m really just that crazy.  I figure it is somewhere in between.  Hell, if people can watch “reality TV” for hours on end, what’s so wrong with my listening to hosts discuss the MLB trade deadline, or callers who come up with some of the most off the wall shit I’ve ever laid ears on just so they may hear their own voice over the airwaves (TURN DOWN YOUR RADIO!).

In an age of high-def channels on both radio and tv, satelites, and 24-hour cable sports news stations, it’s nice to know that we can still enjoy a free form of sports entertainment.  As long as you own a tuneable AM/FM radio that is.  I’ll take what I can get.  On any given day, I can listen to sports talk radio on my own radio, my computer through streaming website feeds, on my iPhone through the same feed, or on satelite radio.  Gone are the days of being locked into your own local programming on the radio.  Now if I’d like to hear what the opponent’s fans are saying the night before the big game versus my team, I can simply find that station on my browser and listen to how wrong these people are!  The only thing better is to call in from 2,000 miles away to tell them yourself!

I may come off as a geezed crooked stick, but trust me, I am a technology geek persay.  I just enjoy the simple things once in a while.  I encourage you to do the same.

One thought on “Celestial Reasonings

Comments are closed.