Can’t Beat Beantown


FCSR_gen

by Chris Meinecke

ChrisWhile I’ve never experienced Patriot Day in Boston, I’ve always wanted to be a part of it. There is morning baseball, the most famous marathon on the planet, and maybe even a Bruins or Celtics game that same night. That is what I call a sports spectator’s dream. You don’t really have to like the teams playing, or enjoy the competition involved with the Boston marathon, you like the day for the event. You like it for social aspect and what the day actually represents in New England – our liberty.
That all changed on April 15th. I had never been to New York to see the twin towers. I had never been to New York to see anything. My New York experience is a post 9/11 one. That experience is no less amazing in the fantastic city of New York then I’m sure it would have been pre-9/11. Now, when I do make it to Boston for Patriot Day, I will have visited post marathon bombing.
Should I really be complaining about that you might ask? I wouldn’t say that I’m complaining. I would say that I am more disappointed than anything. I know that incidents like the one in Boston will most likely happen again. I don’t want anyone to think that I have conceit in my own brain about being able to attend the events in Boston and have them not be the same for me. People lost their lives and other were very badly injured, all focus is on finding who is responsible, and the pain that the victims, families, and a great American city will have to endure on their way toward healing.
What does raise an eyebrow or two with me, beyond trying to understand why such things happen in our world, is when will this happen again? I’d like to believe that nothing like this will ever happen to me, my friends, or my family at a sporting even, or any event for that matter. The hard fact is that with every day that passes it becomes more and more likely that terrorism will affect us in some way. I don’t have cold statistics to back up that claim, but our society and the cultures that reside in it are forever changing. Not even the bomb sniffing dogs can ensure that we or someone close to us won’t get our legs blown off while watching a race. That may sound harsh, but it is the truth. It’s the truth because the tragedy is Boston taught us that.
Boston also reminded us of that old saying “if we stop going about our lives, the terrorist’s win”. I hate that term. That term doesn’t hold a lot of weight to me. That term is soft in every sense of the definition of the word. Unfortunately, there isn’t a better phrase to describe what I’m getting at. I don’t want them to win. I want to beat them senseless to within an inch of their lives, let them recover, beat them again, and then slowly bleed them from their toes. See, nothing soft about that statement.
My heart goes out to everyone directly involved. I wish I had more words of wisdom to impart on the masses. If nothing else, this attack makes me want to go to Boston next year and make sure I’m involved in every last little detail of Patriot Day.
Terrorists should know by now – We American’s won’t stay down long. When you proverbially tell us that we can’t do something, we try to do it one hundred and forty-seven thousand times more and then some.
See you next year Boston!

